Lali Kandelaki


From 1990-1997 she was a Soloist of the Tbilisi Opera and Ballet Professional State Theatre.

From 1997-2003 – Principal Dancer of the Mersin Opera and Ballet Theatre in Turkey.

From January 2003 – Leading Soloist of the Budapest “Art Ballet” (Gerard Michael Bohbot’s Company).

Since September 2003 – Leading Soloist, Prima Ballerina of the Tbilisi Opera and Ballet State Theatre. Since 2013, she's been a coaching ballet-master of the company.



Odette – Odile – Tchaikovsky: SWAN LAKE

Javara – Toradze: GORDA

Chelita – Minkus: DON QUIXOTE

Giselle, Myrtha – Adam: GISELLE

Sugar Plum Fairy – Tchaikovsky: THE NUTCRACKER

Juliet – Prokofiev: ROMEO AND JULIET

Gipsy Woman – Messager: TWO PIGEONS

Laurencia – Krein: LAURENCIA

Titania – Mendelssohn: A MIDNIGHT’S SUMMER DREAM
Terpischore – Stravinsky: APOLON MUSAGÈTE

Fairy Carabosse - Tchaikovsky: THE SLEEPING BEAUTY

Leading roles in the ballets SERENADE, APOLON MUSAGÈTE, WESTERN SYMPHONY, TARANTELLA, TCHAIKOVSKY PAS DE DEUX, CHACONNE, SYMPHONY IN C (choreography by G. Balanchine), LE CONSERVATOIRE (choreography by A. Bournoville), SECOND BEFORE THE GROUND (choreography by T. McIntyre) DREAMS ABOUT JAPAN (choreography by A. Ratmansky), SAGALOBELI, REFLECTIONS (choreography by Y. Possokhov), STEPPING STONES (choreography by J. Kylián), also ballets by Giorgi Aleksidze.


Performances abroad:

She participated in tours to England, Germany and Austria with Oleg Vinogradov’s ballet company (Seoul, Korea);

Tour to England and Japan with the Moscow Bolshoi Theatre under direction of Alexey Fadeechev; Edinburgh International Festival (1997, 2008);

Jacob’s Pillow Festival (USA 2007, 2010);

Spoleto Festival (USA 2007, 2010);

Participated in tours of the Tbilisi Opera and Ballet State Theatre’s ballet company to the USA, Egypt, Ukraine and Armenia, and in a tour to China with the Royal Swedish Ballet.


Lali Kandelaki is a laureate of the XIX Varna International Ballet Competition, where she won Gold medal and first prize (2000);

Award of Honor (2009);

Vakhtang Chabukiani Award (2010).